PREVIOUS: XY Routing

Mutes

Each channel has a Mute button, located above the channel fader. A Channel can also be muted in the following ways:

The colour of the Mute buttons indicate the following, as explained further down the page:

Unlit: Unmuted (can be muted manually, or via Automation or Group muting);

Orange: Group Mute (muted by a Mute Group or VCA);

Red: Manual or Automated Mute (the channel cannot be unmuted by a group);

Flashing Red: Safe Mute (safe from Automation or Group unmuting);

Green: Safe Unmute (safe from Automation or Group muting).

Note: Mutes do not silence the recorder outputs or any pre-fader Insert sends.

Mute Groups

Definition: Mute Groups allow a number of channels to be muted with the press of a single button – a horn section, or all performers from one 'act', for example. LIVE has ten mute groups, controlled using the ten Mute Group buttons towards the bottom right of the console's Master Tile. Channels of any type can be included in Mute Groups, and each channel can be in any number of Mute Groups.
To mute all signals in a Mute Group, simply press the relevant Mute Group button. The Mute Group button will go orange (note Group 5 in the graphic to the right) as will the mute buttons for all channels included in it.
Note: If you mute a channel locally (using its own Mute button), it will remain muted regardless of the status of any Mute Groups it is part of, as indicated by the button going red.

Assigning Channels to Mute Groups

You can assign channels to Mute Groups using the Master Tile Mute Group buttons or the Mute Group functions in the Main Screen or Channel Control Tile:

Note: If you add a Channel to a Mute Group while the Mute Group is active, the channel will immediately become muted.

Master Mute Group buttons:

Press & hold the Master Tile Mute Group button for the group you wish to alter – it will flash orange to indicate that it is in Configuration mode.

To add a channel to the Group, press its Select button – it will flash orange to indicate that it is included.

To remove a channel from the Group, press its Select button – it will stop flashing.

You can also add a range of channels by pressing-and-holding the Select button at one end of the range, then pressing the Select button at the other end of the range.

Press the Master Tile Mute Group button again to disengage Configuration mode.

Mute Group Quick Controls:

Select the MG Assign button within a Channel Strip:

Ten Mute Group Selectors are shown in the Selector area of the channel strip, along with a Safe Selector.

Touch the Group Selector for the Mute Group for which you wish to add or remove the channel.

If Quick Control Lock (located in the right edge of the screen) is active, it will go blue to indicate that the Group is assigned to the Quick Controls. You can then use the Upper Quick Key to add or remove the channel to or from that Mute Group – the number area of the MG Selector will go green to indicate the channel is included in that Mute Group.

If the Quick Control Lock is inactive, the channel will be added to the Mute Group as well as being assigned to the Quick Controls.

The Left Quick Key is used for the Channel Safe, as described below.

The colour bar in the channel's MG Assign button will go orange to indicate that the channel has been assigned to at least one Mute Group.

The MG Selectors display as follows:

Unnassigned and inactive;

Assigned to Quick Controls and inactive;

Assigned to Quick Controls and active;

Unassigned and active.


The Channel Detail dialogue and Channel Control Tile offer similar interfaces for configuring Mute Groups and Safes; see the Reference Section's Mutes and Mute Groups page for information.

Mute Safe

MUTE SAFE allows you to override any indirect mutes which might try and act on a channel (Mute Groups, VCAs or Automation mutes).

When MUTE SAFE is engaged on a path that is currently muted, the path will automatically enter Safe Mute mode.

When MUTE SAFE is engaged on a path that is currently unmuted, the path will automatically enter Safe Unmute mode.

Flashing Red: Safe Mute (safe from Automation or Group unmuting);

Green: Safe Unmute (safe from Automation or Group muting).

Tapping the MUTE button will alternate that path between Safe Mute and Safe Unmute.

The MUTE SAFE function is enabled using the Quick Control MG page, as described above, or using similar procedures in the Channel Detail dialogue or Channel Control Tile. Tap MUTE SAFE to engage or disengage it.

Auto Mute Safe

Auto Mute Safe is a User Key that provides a rapid way to Mute or Unmute any path on the console, regardless of any Group Mutes or Automation.

Engaging Auto Mute Safe prepares every path to enter Mute Safe when MUTE is pressed.

So when Auto Mute Safe is engaged, pressing the MUTE button on any path will automatically turn on MUTE SAFE for that path and enter it into Safe Mute mode. If the path was already muted, pressing the MUTE button will automatically enter it into Safe Unmute mode.

Tapping the MUTE button will alternate that path between Safe Mute and Safe Unmute.

To use Auto Mute Safe first add it as a User Key in MENU > Setup > Options > USER tab. Then press the chosen User Key to engage Auto Mute Safe. Now press the MUTE button on any path and MUTE SAFE will turn on for that path. The path will now be in Safe Mute or Safe Unmute mode, depending on the previous Mute state of that path.

To turn off Auto Mute Safe press the User Key again to disengage. Any paths that were entered into MUTE SAFE will remain in this mode after Auto Mute Safe is diengaged. Go to the Quick Control MG page or Channel View or Detail View to turn off MUTE SAFE for that path. Any other paths' MUTE buttons will now return to normal operation.

Useful Links:

Tutorial: Quick Controls
Tutorial: Mutes and Mute Groups
Mutes and Mute Group Operation
VCA Mutes
Index and Glossary
NEXT: VCA Grouping